A CONVERSATION WITH GREG VIOLAN

This week, I interviewed second year Long Beach local Greg Violan. I unfortunately forgot to snap a quick picture of Greg before I left, so I guess I’ll just have to take the subtracted point this week (sadness). Greg graduated from Long Beach Polytechnic and is now majoring in computer science at Long Beach State University. Greg hasn’t always been a local, however. He moved here from the Philippines ten years ago because of certain family issues. Despite being a Filipino native, Greg can speak fluent Japanese thanks to his four years of foreign language in high school. He even taught me a little Japanese. I found this a little ironic considering I’m the one that is Japanese. He was able to guess my nationality because of my last name, which like many people, he had a difficult time pronouncing. Despite knowing how to speak Japanese, he stays true to his Filipino culture through his strong love of halo halo, which by the way, is amazing.

Greg and I had a very interesting conversation about our fears. I told him about my fears of public speaking and the dark, and tried explaining my fear of bubbles. It was funny and hard to explain, but we both got a laugh out of it. Afterwards, he told me his greatest fear is losing someone he loves. What a sweet guy! He asked me if I had any idea of what I wanted to be when i grew up, and my only answer was I have no idea, but that was okay because he also had no idea himself. Greg was nice enough to have a full interview with me after already having done a full interview with someone else and I was thankful that he took the time to do it! I felt like I learned a lot about him!

Leave a Reply

